Aggravated Assault Attorney in Phoenix
MayesTelles Is Available 24/7 – Call Now
Contact MayesTelles if you or someone you love has been arrested or accused of aggravated assault. Our firm has nearly 100 years of experience and is available 24/7 to take your calls. We know that aggravated assault allegations are an urgent matter, which is why we are prepared to come to your defense fast.
At MayesTelles PLLC, we have handled many successful assault cases for clients:
- We secured a not guilty verdict for a client charged with aggravated assault (Class 3 felony)
- We got our client's aggravated assault charge (Class 6 felony) reduced to a misdemeanor
To learn more about the victories we have been able to secure for our clients, view our case results.
ARS § 13-1204: Arizona’s Aggravated Assault Law
There are 11 different ways a person can be charged with aggravated assault in Arizona:
- When an individual inflicts serious physical injury on another person
- When an individual uses a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument on another
- Force that causes substantial disfigurement, impairment of organs, or fractures
- Inflicting injury on another while that individual is physically restrained or impaired
- Any assault that occurs after entrance into a private residence with the intent to commit assault
- Assault inflicted by someone 18 years or older on an individual 15 years or younger
- Assault that occurs as a violation of a protection order
- Assault on an individual who is a peace officer, constable, firefighter, teacher, healthcare practitioner, prosecutor, code enforcement officer, park ranger, public defender, or judicial officer
- Taking control or attempting to take control of a firearm or deadly weapon used by a peace officer
- Committing assault on a department of corrections employee while in custody
- Using a simulated deadly weapon to cause physical injury to another
How Aggravated Assault Charges Are Classified
In most cases, aggravated assault is a Class 3 felony. It can be classified as a Class 2 felony if the victim is a minor under the age of 15. If the assault caused substantial disfigurement, impairment of organs, or fractures, it could be designated a Class 4 felony. Taking a firearm being used by a peace officer or assault while imprisoned could be designated a Class 5 felony. Aggravated assault could also be designated a Class 6 felony in some circumstances; for example, assault on a person who is bound or impaired.
Aggravated Assault Definitions
- Serious Physical Injury: Unlike “physical injury” that describes impairment to a person physically, serious physical injury describes an injury that puts a person at risk for death or disfigurement.
- Deadly Weapon: Although this does include firearms, a “deadly weapon” could also be any other object designed for lethal use.
- Dangerous Instrument: This describes an instrument that can be used to inflict serious physical injury, but is not necessarily designed for that purpose.
- Order of Protection: ARS 13-3602 and ARS 13-3624 describe court orders that individuals can file if they believe they are at risk for stalking, harassment, assault, or any other manner of danger.
Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Arizona
Anyone convicted of dangerous aggravated assault in the state of Arizona can face the following penalties according to § 13-704 of the Arizona Revised Statutes sentencing guidelines:
- Class 5 Felony: is punishable by a minimum of two and a maximum of four years in prison. Offenders who have any other prior on their record could receive a maximum six years in prison.
- Class 4 Felony: is punishable by a minimum of four and a maximum of eight years in prison. Offenders who have any other prior on their record could receive a maximum 12 years in prison.
- Class 3 Felony: is punishable by a minimum of five and a maximum of 15 years in prison. Offenders who have any other prior on their record could receive a maximum 20 years in prison.
- Class 2 Felony: is punishable by a minimum of seven and a maximum of 21 years in prison. Offenders who have any other prior on their record could receive a maximum 28 years in prison.
Contact MayesTelles for Your Free Consultation
If you were arrested or accused of aggravated assault, contact MayesTelles as soon as possible. You have the right to remain silent and you have the right to legal counsel. We strongly suggest that you do not use a public defender. Public defenders are free, but they handle far too many cases at once, limiting the amount of time they can spend on getting you the best result. Our aggravated assault attorneys in Phoenix offer flexible and affordable payment options so you can retain the best counsel at a price you can afford.
Call us today at (602) 428-7104 or fill out our online form to request a FREE consultation.