How Will a DUI Affect My Insurance?
There are many consequences of a DUI, one of them being the impact on your insurance premiums. A driving under the influence offense, just like a traffic violation or car accident, causes your insurance company to see you as an accident risk. The higher your accident risk, the more your insurance company will charge you for coverage.
Another risk of getting a DUI is losing your insurance coverage entirely. Some insurance companies have a lower tolerance for drivers with DUIs on their records, and may drop policies because of it. If you get a DUI, especially a more severe DUI like an aggravated DUI or your second DUI, you may run the risk of your insurance policy being dropped.
If your insurance company does drop your policy, you will have to find coverage elsewhere because auto insurance is a requirement in the state of Arizona. In addition, in order to get your license back after a DUI you must show proof of financial responsibility (insurance) by way of an SR-22 form. In either scenario, you will wind up paying more for your auto insurance after a DUI.
In Arizona, the "look back period" is 84 months (7 years) from the date of your DUI offense. This means that a DUI could affect your auto insurance rates for up to 7 years. This is also the amount of time that the state of Arizona considers for repeat DUI offenders. For example, a second or subsequent DUI offense within 84 months of the first warrants increased penalties. If the second or subsequent DUI occurs after 84 months, you will not be treated as a repeat offender.
It is also important to note that any DUI you incur can also adversely impact other drivers on your auto insurance policy. For example, if you have a joint policy with your wife and you get a DUI, this will affect her auto insurance premiums as well.
DUI violations are costly, which is why we do everything we can to help our clients get these types of charges reduced or dismissed entirely. If you were arrested for drunk driving, act quickly. You only have 15 days to contest the suspension of your license with the Motor Vehicles Department (MVD) and the sooner you act to retain an attorney, the sooner we can begin compiling the evidence we need to support a dismissal of your charges.
Even when charge dismissal is not possible, we work to secure the most favorable outcome, which could involve reduced charges or a more favorable sentence such as probation only. To learn more, contact a Phoenix DUI lawyer at our firm today for a free consultation.