Vehicular Manslaughter Attorneys in Phoenix
How the Law Defines Vehicular Manslaughter in ArizonaIn Arizona, there is no differentiation between manslaughter and vehicular manslaughter. Both charges fall under the same statutes and hold the same consequences. As such, it is important to obtain legal representation if a death occurred during a vehicular accident in which you were involved.
Under Arizona Revised State § 13-1103, a person is guilty if they:
- Recklessly cause the death of another;
- Commit second degree murder in a sudden quarrel or in the heat of passion;
- Knowingly assist in another person’s suicide;
- Knowingly or recklessly cause the death of an unborn child by physically injuring the child’s mother.
Because vehicular manslaughter involves death, the consequences are far more serious than a DUI accident causing injury. You can be charged not only with manslaughter but also with the use of a “deadly weapon or dangerous instrument.” Arizona courts also look at intent when it comes to vehicular manslaughter. If a person knowingly gets behind the wheel while intoxicated, their offense can be considered intentional.
Our Phoenix vehicular manslaughter lawyers at MayesTelles have extensive experience and knowledge handling such cases. We take the time to get to know our clients so that we can build a case that weakens the opposition’s claims. And, we have former prosecutors on our team who understand what the other side is thinking. If you have been arrested, contact us today at (602) 428-7104 for a free consultation.
Factors to Consider in Vehicular Manslaughter
There are many causes related to car accidents that cause death. You can be charged with vehicular manslaughter or aggravated assault when killing a person during a car accident.
Possible causes of vehicular manslaughter include:
- DUI – Under A.R.S. Chapter 4 §28-1381, if an individual has a blood alcohol content of over .08% and drives an automobile, they can be charged with not only a DUI but also an aggravated assault if anyone is injured or killed.
- Aggressive Driving – Someone can be charged with aggressive driving if they fail to obey traffic laws, drive at an unreasonable speed, or commit unsafe maneuvers that endanger those on the road.
- Excessive Speed – Under A.R.S. §28-701.02, a person can be charged with manslaughter if they drive at an excessively higher speed than the one posted.
Penalties of Vehicular Manslaughter
Manslaughter is considered a Class 2 “Dangerous” felony in Arizona. There are harsher penalties associated with this charge. The minimum sentence, if convicted, is seven years. The maximum sentence is 21 years. Some attorneys can fight for a plea bargain, which usually entails seven to 12 years of prison time.
Don’t Wait to Contact MayesTelles PLLC
Vehicular manslaughter charges are extremely serious. Not only will you serve an extended time in prison if you are convicted, but it is a charge that will follow you for the rest of your life. Let MayesTelles PLLC fight to protect your future. Call our vehicular manslaughter lawyers in Phoenix 24/7 to learn more.
Call (602) 428-7104 for a free consultation.