Underage Drinking and Driving Attorneys in Phoenix
Aggressive Defense for Arizona Underage DUI Charges
Any type of DUI charge should be considered serious because of the effects it can have on a person’s life. When the DUI charge pertains to an underage minor, it can be damaging. Arizona is a zero-tolerance state when it comes to underage drinking and driving. This means that an underage driver younger than 21 years old with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level over .00% can be arrested for a DUI. There are a number of accidents each year caused by underage drunk drivers so the penalties are much stricter in order to help prevent this from happening.
Penalties of an underage DUI charge include, but are not limited to:
- First offense: Jail time up to 10 days, up to $1,600 fine, driver’s license suspension, and more
- Second offense within 7 years: Jail time up to 90 days, up to $2,500 fine, driver’s license suspension, and more
Arizona is an implied consent state, which means that by operating a vehicle, you consent to a breathalyzer test. You have the right to refuse this test, but know that it may result in a driver’s license suspension and an officer may then obtain a search warrant to force compliance. Make sure you have the proper defense. Our Phoenix underage DUI lawyers at MayesTelles PLLC can help you.
Free case reviews available. Call (602) 428-7104 today.
Other Charges You May Face
If your underage child was pulled over and arrested for drinking and driving, know that there may be some other charges that can be associated with this. They could be charged with minor in possession or soliciting alcohol for even having the drinks in his or her possession. If other underage passengers were in the vehicle, it could result in a distributing or child endangerment charge. Arizona is very strict when it comes to underage drinking. Our firm feels that if you can educate yourself regarding the matter, you can avoid serious situations like this in the future.
Understand the Full Consequences
Being charged with an underage DUI carries more than just the immediate consequences of an arrest or fine. It will raise the cost of insurance premiums and will most likely remain on the driver’s record for a number of years. It may be possible to get the conviction expunged in the future, but if not, your ability to gain employment in some industries may be hindered.
At MayesTelles PLLC, our team consists of former prosecutors. We have nearly 100 years of experience helping clients navigate the complex legal system. Don’t let your child’s future be determined by a mistake they made as an underage driver. Learn how our team can stand by your side when you need us the most.
Contact MayesTelles PLLC at (602) 428-7104 today.